Women's History Month
Databases
Gale Academic Onefile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. NOVELny
Gale General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis. NOVELny
Gale Onefile Educator's Reference Complete
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas, including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. NOVELny
Websites
International Women's Day
International Women's Day (IWD) has been around for over a hundred years, and many of the issues still impact women's advancement. Since 1911, IWD belongs to all who care about women's equality. Celebrate women's achievements. Raise awareness about discrimination. Take action to forge gender parity.
Library of Congress: Women's History Month: A Commemorative Observances Legal Research Guide
This guide provides the legislative history, proclamations, and laws for establishing and designating Women's History Month (March).
Live Your Dream
Their collective mission is to provide women and girls with access to the education and training they need to achieve economic empowerment.
National Archives News: Women's History
Records in the National Archives document the significant contributions that women have made to our nation. Explore women's history in the United States by learning about their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the first museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts. The museum inspires dynamic exchanges of art and ideas through its collections, exhibitions, programs, and online content. NMWA advocates for better representation of women artists and serves as a vital center for thought leadership, community engagement, and social change.
Nation Park Service: Eleanor Roosevelt
Get to know Eleanor Roosevelt, former First Lady of the United States, activist, and one of the most influential leaders of the twentieth century. As wife of President Franklin D. Roosevelt, she played a key role in leading the nation through two national crises, the Great Depression and World War II. Through activism and post-war diplomacy, she played a key role in developing civil and human rights for all people.
National Park Service: Women's History
Founded in 1996,, the National Women's History Museum (NWHM) is an innovative virtual-first museum dedicated to uncovering, interpreting, and celebrating women's diverse contributions to society.
Smithsonian American Women's History Museum
The museum expands America's story through the often-untold accounts and accomplishments of women—individually and collectively—to better understand our past and inspire our future.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Women During the Holocaust
The Nazi regime targeted all Jews, both men and women, for persecution and eventually death. The regime frequently subjected women, however, both Jewish and non-Jewish, to brutal persecution that was sometimes unique to the gender of the victims. Nazi ideology also targeted Roma View, this term in the glossary (Gypsy) women, Polish women, and women with disabilities living in institutions.
Women's History Month
Since 1995, presidents have issued a series of annual proclamations designating the month of March as "Women's History Month." These proclamations celebrate women's contributions to the United States and recognize women's achievements throughout American history in various fields.
Community and Local Links
American Association of University Women (AAUW) Buffalo Branch
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) Buffalo Branch is a women's organization that advocates for gender equity and economic security. The branch provides financial support to college students in Western New York and promotes lifelong learning and community programs.
Buffalo Niagara National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO)
NAWBO is a non-profit organization in the United States dedicated to supporting and advocating for women entrepreneurs by providing a network for connecting with other female business owners, sharing resources, and influencing public policy to promote economic growth within the women-owned business community, essentially acting as a unified voice for women business owners across various industries and sectors.
Fifty Fabulous Women Giving Circle
Fifty Fabulous Women Giving Circle (FFWGC) Buffalo Chapter is a community of philanthropic women who combine their financial strength to improve the lives of women and children in Western New York. As an all-volunteer organization with no overhead, 100% of member contributions go directly to programs that align with our mission. FFWGC Buffalo Chapter members meet four times yearly to pool resources, hear presentations from finalist organizations, and select the organization that will receive grant funding.
Junior League of Buffalo
An organization of women committed to promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving the community through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. Provides volunteer services to the community through projects and placements.
NPR Women’s History Month
Enjoy listening to some of the women who have made an impact with their work in Buffalo.
New York State Women, Inc. Buffalo Niagara Chapter
The NYS Women, Inc. Buffalo Niagara Chapter – fosters the success of women in the workforce throughout Western New York, offering career advancement resources, work/life strategies, leadership development, and personal and professional connections.
Uncrowned Queens Institute for Research & Education on Women, Inc.
The Uncrowned Queens Institute for Research & Education on Women, Inc. is the premier online organization researching, documenting, and preserving the regional histories of African American women and men in Western New York and across this nation.
WNY Women’s Foundation
An expansive group of leaders and supporters worked tirelessly to grow the WNY Women's Fund into a self-sustaining, independent organization. Nearly two decades later, the WNY Women's Foundation is a separate 501(c)3 nonprofit organization continually expanding efforts to make Western New York a great place for women and girls to live, work, and grow through women empowerment programs.
United Way Buffalo & Erie County: Women United
Women United is a network of like-minded women who inspire and motivate others through philanthropy, leadership, and volunteerism. Members mobilize the caring power of women as they work to improve the health and wellness of women and children in Buffalo & Erie County.
Library Materials
Catalog Links as Subject (see below)
Buffalo, New York Women
Women Artists
Women in Business
Women’s History
Women’s Rights