Taxes
IRS Coronavirus Tax Relief Information
IRS Refund Status Information
2023 TAX FILING SEASON
Please note that library staff does not give tax advice and the following links are a guide to information. Please consult a tax office or tax preparer with questions.
Federal Tax Information and Forms to Download
IRS Federal Forms
Call 1-800-829-3676 to order IRS forms by U.S. Mail
Where to mail your Federal tax forms if you are a New York State Resident.
Form 1040 -- Instructions (2023) tax tables begin on page 63
Schedules 1-3-- Form 1040 (2023)
Additional schedules -- Form 1040 (schedules A, B, C, etc.)
Form 1040-V Payment Voucher (2023)
Extension Form 4868 (2023)
File Form 4868 by April 15, 2024
Prior Year Federal Tax Forms & Instructions Search
New York State Tax Information and Forms to Download
**Tax Department response to novel coronavirus (COVID-19)**
Form IT-201, Resident Income Tax Return (2022)
Printable PDF Form IT-201 (2022)
IT-201 Instructions (2022) - Resident Income Tax Return Instructions (tax tables begin on page 43)
IT-201-V - Payment Voucher for New York State Income Tax Returns
Claim for Real Property Tax Credit:
IT-214 for 2022 (Instructions)
IT-214 for 2021 (Instructions)
IT-214 for 2020 (Instructions)
IT-214 for 2019 (Instructions)
IT-214 for 2018 (Instructions)
IT-214 for 2017 (Instructions)
Enhanced Form IT-196 - Itemized Deductions for tax years 2018 and after: New York Resident, Nonresident, and Part-Year Resident Itemized Deductions. (Note: IT-201-D has been discontinued.)
Where to mail New York State Personal Income Tax Returns
Please note that to Apply for an extension of time to file an income tax return you have to complete the request via an online service.
Individuals may also call 518-457-5181 between 8:30am-4:30pm if they have questions. New York State does not have form IT-370 available on its website and any copies found on other websites may not be a valid documents if an individual mails that to the state. New York State will also not accept Federal extension forms.
Order NYS forms via automated telephone service 518-457-5431.
Forms take up to 2 weeks for delivery and you can order up to 5 forms. Please note that delivery time and amount of forms that you are able to order may vary depending on call volume and form availability.
TDD/TTY: If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a Text Telephone (TTY), Dial 7-1-1 for the New York Relay Service
Local Tax Help at Library Locations - Please call ahead - by appointment only - click on link for details
Elaine M. Panty Branch (formerly Riverside)
Frank E. Merriweather, Jr. Branch
General Tax Help
Federal Tax Offices - New York
IRS Taxpayer Assistance Centers are your source for personal tax help when you believe your tax issue cannot be handled online or by phone, and you want face-to-face assistance. To locate the nearest Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) site, call 1-800-906-9887.
New State Department of Taxation and Finance - Contact Information
Tax offices no longer offer walk-in services. However, the website provides an answer center, telephone numbers, a mailing address, and a link to check income tax refund status.
Community Tax Help (updates posted as available)
211 Tax Preparation Directory: Listing of some local options for tax assistance.
AARP Foundation Tax-Aide Program
AARP Foundation Tax-Aide offers free, individualized tax preparation for low-to moderate-income taxpayers - especially those 50 and older - at nearly 5,000 locations nationwide. Find a location near you! Please review the documents to take with you.
UB School of Management - Free Tax Preparation
IRS-certified students from the UB School of Management will again provide free tax preparation services to individuals and families with annual incomes below $54,000. The service is provided by the IRS-sponsored Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program with volunteers from the UB chapter of Beta Alpha Psi, an international honors organization for accounting and finance students, with help from the UB Accounting Association.
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)
The Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program offers free tax help to people who generally make $55,000 or less, persons with disabilities and limited English speaking taxpayers who need assistance in preparing their own tax returns. IRS-certified volunteers provide free basic income tax return preparation with electronic filing to qualified individuals. Please double check what to bring before attending a session.
Websites
Affordable Care Act (ACA) Tax Provisions
The Affordable Care Act contains comprehensive health insurance reforms and includes tax provisions that affect individuals, families, businesses, insurers, tax-exempt organizations and government entities.
CNN Money
The latest in tax law updates, news, forms & advice.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The IRS is the US government agency responsible for tax collection and tax law enforcement. Contains downloadable forms and instructions.
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
Corporate, personal, sales and other NYS tax and finance related information. Also contains downloadable forms and instructions.
Yahoo!Finance
Tax articles, calculators, tools, and advice from Yahoo! Personal Finance. Includes tax tips, glossary, checklist, calendar, how-to guides, and more.
Community and Local Links
Assessment and Taxation Department – City of Buffalo
This department deals with city property tax, sewer rent bills, local assessment bills, tax sale certificates, and other tax notices.
Erie County Department of Real Property Tax Services
Contains tax rate history, auction & foreclosure information, forms, public notices, general tax & assessment information, and you can pay property taxes online.
Databases
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more. NOVELny
Gale Business: Insights
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Virtual Tour
Gale LegalForms
Access New York legal forms and resources.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA): Business
Reference USA includes 24 million nationwide business listings searchable by name, location, line of business, size and other details. This database is a goldmine for the entrepreneur! Collect industry information, compile lists of competitors, customers, and potential partners.
USA.gov
USA.gov offers easy, one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources. Users can browse information about money and taxes.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.