Genealogy

Grosvenor Room - Genealogy

Databases

Ancestry Library
Provides access to more than 1 billion names. Includes city directories, census records, immigration records and much more. Available at all library locations.

HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online contains U.S. federal census records from 1790-1940, special federal census schedules, over 20,000 local and family history books, over 20,000 U.S. city directories, a genealogical and local history serials index, Revolutionary War Pension Files, Freedman's Bank Records, and select content from the U.S. Serial Set.

New York Times
Provides full-text coverage from 1985 to the present. NOVELny

Newspapers.com
Search historical digitized newspapers from Buffalo, Erie County and beyond. Available titles include periodicals from the Grosvenor Room and Buffalo History Museum collections. Available Only at the Central Library.

Sanborn Maps of New York 1867-1970
Sanborn fire insurance maps are detailed property and land-use records. This database covers hundreds of New York state cities and towns including over 50 Erie County locations.

Websites

The 1950 U.S. Census
The 1950 census records were released by the US National Archives April 1, 2022, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1950 census images, in addition to 1950 census maps and descriptions.

Buffalo & Erie County Public Library Digital Collections
Explore the Grosvenor Room's collection of digitized local newspapers, directories, and atlases of interest to family history researchers.

BuffaloResearch.com
Designed for family history research in Buffalo, Erie County, and Western New York, with hundreds of useful links.

Cyndi’s List
If it has genealogical relevance and it’s online, you’ll find it at Cyndi’s List.

Family Search
Free access to the LDS Family Search databases and research guides.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Provides access to NARA’s genealogy topic guides, databases, and record order forms.

USGenWeb
A nationwide volunteer project related to census records, cemeteries, vital records, etc.