Gardening
Databases
Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports provides buying advice, product ratings, product reviews, recommendations, money-saving advice and tips, and videos. Categories of products include cars, home & garden, appliances, electronics, babies, and more.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Virtual Tour
Websites
American Horticultural Society
Advocates Earth-friendly and sustainable gardening practices with programs and resources.
Better Homes and Gardens
The garden portion of the website contains sections on flowers, houseplants, regional gardening, landscaping, garden plans, lawn care and a plant encyclopedia.
Birds & Blooms
A magazine for bird, butterfly and garden lovers with online subscription, email tips list, pictures, and contests.
Buffalo-Niagara Gardening
An online magazine that provides gardening tips; a gardening directory; lists of local gardening events and more.
Fine Gardening
Plant guides, design ideas, "how-to" articles, gardening videos, discussion board and gardening blog.
National Gardening Association
Features growing ideas, expert advice, how-to projects & videos, regional gardening reports and plant care guides. There's also a section for Kids Gardening
United States Botanic Garden
The United States Botanic Garden is an institution dedicated to demonstrating the aesthetic, cultural, economic, therapeutic, and ecological importance of plants to the well-being of humankind.
Community and Local Links
Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens
The Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens is a national historic site, education center and tourist destination full of exotic horticulture treasures. The Botanical Gardens features plants native to Western New York's temperate region in addition to plants native to tropical and sub-tropical regions of the world. Made up of three glass domes and nine greenhouses, this breathtaking conservatory is situated on 11.4 acres at the entrance to Buffalo's historic South Park.
Buffalo Bonsai Society
The club was established in 1965 to promote the study of bonsai Western New York. Bonsai is a living art form which enables the hobbyist to transform conventional trees into a harmonious miniature representation of a mature tree in a small container.
Buffalo Home and Garden Show
The Buffalo Home and Garden Show exhibits the latest designs in remodeling, gardening, and home decorating. The show hosts over 500 experts available to demonstrate products and services. This site provides information on the show, ticket prices, attractions, and confirmed exhibitors.
Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy
A leading visitor destination and community resource comprised of connected historic parks, parkways, avenues, and circles where clean and safe landscapes are celebrated and revered as major works of public art. Scenic features of the parks include the Rose Garden and Japanese Garden.
Children's Garden Harvest Festival
At this festival, children and families can learn about planting bulbs, composting, fall fruits and vegetables, and how they can be good environmental stewards in their own neighborhoods.
Cornell Co-op Extension
Cornell University Cooperative Extension is an educational organization whose programs are available to all residents of Erie County. Accurate, unbiased information is provided, thus helping individuals make decisions on current issues based on up-to-date research facts from Cornell University and the United States Department of Agriculture. A unique cooperative arrangement among Erie County, Cornell University and the United States Department of Agriculture, allows Cooperative Extension to offer a wide range of program resources tailored to the needs and interests of local residents. Funding to support these programs is received from the County of Erie, the State of New York and the Federal Government.
East Side Garden Walk
Encourages visitors and neighbors to walk, drive, or bike Buffalo’s East Side, learning about the resilience of this community. Visitors meet its gracious gardeners, experience its historic neighborhoods and wide-ranging architecture.
Garden Walk Buffalo
Garden Walk Buffalo is a free, self-guided tour of hundreds Buffalo gardens, the largest garden tour in America. Held annually on the last weekend of July, the Garden Walk has become one of Western New York's most anticipated summer happenings. Tens of thousands of visitors attend each year as the city shows off beautiful homes and gardens.
Garden Walk Williamsville
Presented by the volunteer-led Village Beautification Committee, features walkable self-guided garden tours.
Grassroots Gardens
Grassroots Gardens of Buffalo is a community gardening program in Western New York working with public and private sectors to revitalize neighborhoods and build quality of life through the reuse and beautification of vacant land.
Hamburg Garden Walk
Open gardens and a garden-themed vendor fair featuring small businesses and artisans in Hamburg, New York.
Lancaster Garden Walk
Walk the village or venture outside the village to more gardens open for viewing.
Lewiston GardenFest
Vendors, open gardens, speakers and demonstrations in Lewiston, New York.
Lockport In Bloom
Free city-wide walking/driving tour of gardens and public parks throughout the City of Lockport, NY.
North Tonawanda Garden Walk
Various gardens in the city available for viewing.
Town of Amherst Garden Walk
Free event of resident gardens open for public viewing.
Urban Farm Day
Hear the stories of local growers and the groups that help bolster the local food community. Learn the history of their spaces and the inspiration for their work.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Bird Gardens
Butterfly Gardening
Companion Planting
Compost
Container Gardening
Everything Trees
Exotic Plants
Flower Gardening
Flower Art
Fruit Gardening
Garden Ornaments and Furniture
Garden Pests
General Gardening
Grasses
Herb Gardening
History of Gardening
House Plants & Indoor Gardening
Hydroponics
Japanese Gardening
Landscaping
Low Maintenance Gardening
Medicinal Plants
Northeastern Gardening
Organic Gardening
Plant Diseases & Problems
Plant Propagation
Pruning
Rock Gardens
Vegetable Gardening
Water Gardens