Healthcare
These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.
NIH News in Health
A monthly newsletter from the National Institutes of Health, part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Databases
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Find full-text of nursing and allied health journals. Virtual Tour
MedlinePlus.gov Español
This user-friendly government site puts you in touch with over 18,000 links to accurate, current medical information including drug information, medical dictionary,encyclopedia, health news, and tutorials. Virtual Tour
PubMed Central
Free full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA): Health Care
Includes 855,000 physician and dentist listings throughout the U.S.
Websites
American Heart Association
The American Heart Association provides public health education in a variety of ways. They are the nation's leader in CPR education training.
Consumer Information- Health & Fitness Federal Trade Commission
Don't be taken in by products that promise to cure everything from baldness and cancer to diabetes and dementia, or for services that say they will shape you up, restore your youthful glow. Learn how to decode and evalute the ads you see on TV and social media.
Familydoctor.org
Easy access to printable handouts on diseases and conditions from the American Academy of Family Physicians. This site also has a dictionary, health calculators and Healthy Living Guides.
Find a Health Center Enter your zip code to find a list of providers
HRSA Health Centers care for you, even if you have no health insurance – you pay what you can afford based on your income. Health centers provide a wide array of services to keep you well and treat illnesses. Contact the health center directly to be sure they have the service you need and to make an appointment.
Genetics Home Reference
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
Health Information in Multiple Languages
Find health information in languages other than English.
Mayo Clinic
Basic steps for CPR for those that are untrained, trained and ready to go and trained but rusty.
MouthHealthy.Org
Consumer website of the American Dental Association. Oral health topics, choosing a dentist and many other frequently asked about topics. Find affordable dental care for your child
New York State Department of Health
Comprehensive health website including health statistics, consumer health information, health provider licensing and profiles, and health insurance information.
The New York State Doctor Profile
Find a physician’s education, practice, and professional activities. Under Legal Actions check for any malpractice suits filed against him or her.
New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
Information on addictions, treatment, recovery and wellness.
NIH MedlinePlus Magazine
Quarterly magazine which contains up-to-date health information with the latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research.
Recommended Websites for Cancer Information
Members of the Medical Librarians Association's Cancer Librarians Section have reviewed these resources for quality (currency, credibility, content, audience, etc.).
State Health Facts
Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies.
Symptom Checker
From the Mayo Clinic, this site guides the user through a series of questions leading to helpful diagnostic possibilities. NOT a substitute for consulting your health care provider.
U.S. News & World Report hospital ranking site
See hospital rankings by specialty or perform general searches for information including patient satisfaction ratings.
What did my doctor say?
The Medical Library Association created this page to help you understand what a doctor or nurse tells you. You’ll find tips on how to understand many health words.
Community and Local Links
2-1-1 WNY
Find it fast! Your link to resources and services throughout Western New York. Specialty databases also offered include Pregnancy and Early Parenting, Developmental Disabilities, Prisoner Re-entry and Caregivers.
Erie County Department of Health
Departments and services including Lead, food safety, Opiate Task Force, immunizations, HIV testing and many more.
Population Health Collaborative
Population Health Collaborative works to improve the health of Western New Yorkers from every possible angle. Contains health data, county health rankers, community demographics, and a WNY Community Health Needs Assessment.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Drug handbooks and manuals
Health topics
Medical topics
Nutrition handbooks
Patient education