General Reference

 

Databases

Britannica Academic Edition
Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopædia Britannica with Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports provides buying advice, product ratings, product reviews, recommendations, money-saving advice and tips, and videos. Categories of products include cars, home & garden, appliances, electronics, babies, and more.

Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

Gale Literature: Books and Authors
Reviews and recommendations to assist with book selection.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep (Gale Presents)
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.

 

Websites

Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Merriam-Webster Online
Search the Merriam Webster Dictionary or Thesaurus. Listen to pronounciations and check out the "Word of the Day", "Word Games" and "Trends."

Old Farmer's Almanac
Long range forecasts for major regions of the U.S.; 5 day forecasts for U.S. and international cities; recipes and gardening tips.

OneLook Dictionary
Search many dictionaries at once or browse the comprehensive list of dictionary links. A special feature is the Reverse Dictionary which allows you to describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept. 

 

Community Resources

2-1-1 WNY
Find it fast! Your link to resources and services throughout Western New York. Specialty databases also offered include Pregnancy and Early Parenting, Developmental Disabilities, Prisoner Re-entry and Caregivers. 

B&ECPL Kids Resources
Library events, early literacy information, homework help, and so much more! 

BuffaloResearch.com
A comprehensive site that includes tips for finding house and building information, histories of local businesses, online maps, and family records.

Buffalo White Pages
This local directory is great for quick reference.

Code Blue
Under NYS guidance, those experiencing homelessness will be sheltered when its 32 degrees or less outside. 

Western New York Family Magazine
A monthly magazine for Western New York families.  Full of helpful parenting information and a calendar of local events.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Almanacs
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Fun Facts & Trivia
Gazetteers (Geographical Dictionaries)