Education
Databases
Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopedia Britannica with Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts. Virtual Tour
Britannica Escolar
Britannica content in Spanish for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Virtual Tour
Britannica School
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject for all grades Pre-K-12 and all reading abilities. Offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended websites, and 3 separate databases for Elementary, Middle, or High School. Virtual Tour
Gale Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Virtual Tour
Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Virtual Tour
Gale Literature: Books and Authors
Reviews and recommendations to assist with book selection.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Virtual Tour
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more.
Gale OneFile: Informe Academico
Informe Academico proporciona acceso a periodicos y revistas especializados de lengua espanola y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre America Latina. (Informe Academico provides access to Spanish and Portugese language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.)
Library Resources for Educators
Learn about what the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System has to offer students of all ages.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep (Gale Presents)
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
See our subject guide Common Core & STEAM for additional education resources.
Testing Information
HSE/TASC™ (replaces the GED)
Application process, eligibility requirements, test centers, schedules, and preparation programs for the new High School Equivalancy Test (HSE) the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC).
New York State Elementary/Intermediate (grades 3-8) and High School Regents Exams
Listings of past examinations of various subject areas.
New York State Teacher Certification Examinations (NYSTCE)
Registration, certification requirements, preparation materials, and score reporting for the NYSTCE.
Websites
Common Sense Media - Digital Citizenship
Use digital citizenship lesson plans to address timely topics and prepare students to take ownership of their digital lives. Browse lessons by grade and topic.
Coursera
Free courses online from world-class universities. The topics are varied, and lectures are formatted into series of short video clips.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
An online digital collection of education research from the Education Resources Information Center. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.
Edutopia
Working to improve public schools with resources, tools, and solutions for teachers, administrators, and parents.
Homeschool World
The official website of Practical Homeschooling magazine.
Khan Academy
Learn for free about math, art, computer programming, economics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, finance, history, and more.
Library of Congress Teachers Page
A teacher resource page created by the Library of Congress.
Modern States Education Alliance
A non-profit organization dedicated to making a high quality college education free of cost and accessible to any person. Modern States’ initial program, Freshman Year for Free, is intended to let students earn up to one year of college credit without tuition or textbook expense.
National Archives Resources for Educators and Students
Online access to resources for educators from the National Archives.
Open Learning Initiative
Provides self-guided learning materials; activities; and assessments for students and instructors.
Scholastic Top Teaching Blog
Lesson ideas, classroom strategies, book lists, videos and reproducibles in a daily blog by teachers
Smithsonian Learning Lab
From the Discovery space shuttle to the Star Spangled Banner to dinosaur fossils
TeacherTube
An online community for sharing instructional teacher videos.
Community and Local Links
Buffalo Area Teacher Recruitment Days
A premier teacher recruiting event in Western New York. Attendance at this event is by pre-registration only.
Charter Schools in Erie County
School directory of charter schools in WNY.
Education Collaborative
Consortium of private high schools in Erie and Niagara Counties of Western New York.
Education News
Articles regarding education from Buffalo Business First, please note that some articles you need to pay for access. However, some local libraries subscribe to print copies of Buffalo Business First, which include the Schools Guide with academic rankings.
New York State Common Core Learning Standards
Preschool - grade 12 Common Core Learning Standards Documents.
Office of Special Education (Western Regional Office)
Resources from the New York State Education Department.
Special Education
Erie 1 BOCES Special Education provides programs which are designed for students with disabilities whose instructional needs cannot be appropriately served by their local school district. Special education classes, for students ages 5-21, are hosted within the component school districts.
Upskill
The Buffalo Public Schools Adult Education Division offers TASC test preparation, English as a Second Language (ESL) and Computer courses/classes at one of its 35 sites, or via its home-based TASC distance-learning program. Registration is ongoing throughout the year for anyone aged 17 or older. The Division offers waived or reduced tuition for vocational training programs in the areas of Health Careers, Customer Service/Retail Sales, Building and Construction Skills training, etc. A comprehensive community education/leisure learning program is also offered in the evenings.
Western New York Educational Service Council
The WNYESC is a non-profit educational organization chartered in 1966 by the Regents of the State of New York to serve public and private schools in all eight counties in Western New York. Whether you are searching for professional development workshops, data analysis, leadership mentoring opportunities, school district research and planning studies, curriculum or staffing audits, or even searches for superintendents and principals, the Western New York Educational Service Council can assist.
WNY School District Directory
Compiled by the Career Development Center of Buffalo State
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Classroom Management
Curriculum Planning
Education, Elementary
Education, Preschool
Education, Secondary
Effective Teaching
Internet in Education
Lesson Planning
Teaching
Browse this collection of educational and entertaining ebooks and audiobooks, donated by OverDrive to support young readers in our community. There’s no wait to check out these titles and more! https://buffalo.overdrive.com/collection/1091869