Small Business
Databases
Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports provides buying advice, product ratings, product reviews, recommendations, money-saving advice and tips, and videos. Categories of products include cars, home & garden, appliances, electronics, babies, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Reference USA includes 24 million nationwide business listings searchable by name, location, line of business, size and other details. This database is a goldmine for the entrepreneur! Collect industry information, compile lists of competitors, customers, and potential partners.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
This is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. NOVELny
Gale Business: Insights
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
Gale General OneFile
This database provides magazine and journal articles including Journal of Small Business Management and Franchising World. Virtual Tour
Gale LegalForms
Access New York legal forms and resources.
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
Articles on leadership and management, and more.
Websites
Bplans.com
Free access to example business plans and articles providing start up and management information to the small business owner.
Bizstats
BizStats is the leading free online source for small business statistics. BizStats collects, analyzes, edits and adds value to public data and delivers it without cost in an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand format.
Business Services Online
Business Services Online (BS0) of the United States Social Security Administration enables organizations and authorized individuals to conduct business with the Social Security Administration by providing a degree of authentication that ensures a level of trust. Once registered through the BSO, users may request, activate, and access various services and functions.
Data.census.gov
A searchable database from the US Census Bureau that is used to find population, housing, and business statistics. Information is culled from several surveys and censuses that are conducted at various times. Data.census.gov allows you to view, print, and/or download a variety of data.
Division of Minority and Women-Owned Business Development
This Division of the Empire State Development promotes the business development of minority and women-owned business enterprises (MWBEs) through education and outreach to agencies and MWBEs. Certified MWBE companies are listed in the "Directory of Certified Minority and Women-Owned Business Enterprises."
Google for Startups
Google for Startups is a startup program launched by Google in 2011. It consists of over 50 co-working spaces and accelerators in 125 countries, and provides hands-on lessons for aspiring entrepreneurs.
IRS.gov Small Business/Self Employed
As a new business owner, you need to know your federal tax responsibilities. The IRS provides links to basic federal tax information for people who are starting a business. It also provides information to assist in making basic business decisions.
New York Business Express
New York Business Express is the state's primary online guide to help you start, run, and grow a business in New York. It provides comprehensive information needed to get started on or expand your business journey. The information is organized and presented using customized tools that make it easy to find.
NYS Loves Small Business
New York States clearinghouse of information related to starting and running a business.
NYS Tax Page
In addition to the federal tax obligations NYS has its own requirements and like the Federal level the NYS provides extensive web resources for the starting or established business owner.
NYS Tax Page for Starting a Business
Quickly and easily find information related to licensing, regulation, incentives and support to start or grow your business.
SCORE
SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is America's premier source of free & confidential small business advice for entrepreneurs. The SCORE organization is a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration. It is dedicated to aiding in the formation, growth and success of small business nationwide. The organization offers counseling and workshops to business owners.
Small Business Administration
Official starting point for resources and programs offered by the SBA. Begin with Starting Your Business, Write Your Business Plan, Funding Your Business, and Expand to New Locations. Includes links to most frequently asked start-up questions (FAQs), informative articles, a start-up kit, and locations of Small Business Development Centers throughout the U.S. BusinessLINC ("Learning, Information, Networking, Collaboration") site contains business plans and a mentor’s network.
U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
B.L.S. is is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. Entrepreneurs can use this site to research an industry and identify its Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes. SIC is a system for identifying industries by a four digit code. NAICS uses six digits to identify industries. NAICS is slowly replacing older SIC codes. Finding these codes, which are assigned by the Department of Labor, is the first step to defining which industries you want to pursue. To find out which numbers represent your business try the Department of labor’s website.
Community and Local Links
The Buffalo Niagara Partnership
The Buffalo Niagara Partnership provides strategic support for companies in Erie County through business development programs like the Young Professionals Group, Buffalo Niagara 360 and the Business Intelligence Experts, The partnership can help entrepreneurs make decisions about expanding their marketplace or business, breaking into a new market with products and services, or accessing employer information in target industry sectors.
Erie County Clerk’s Office
Your local starting point on how to start and register your business in Erie County. You can download a copy of the "Starting Your Business" brochure from Erie County.
Erie County Industrial Development Agency
The Erie County Industrial Development Agency (ECIDA), is a public benefit corporation created in 1970 by an act of the New York State Legislature to promote and assist private sector industrial / business development thereby advancing job opportunities and economic well-being to the people of Erie County.
Launch NY
Launch New York, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) venture development organization that operates in the 27 westernmost counties of Upstate New York. Launch NY provides mentorship and proof-of-concept funding to high-growth potential businesses.
Small Business Development Center of Buffalo
The Office of Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) provides management assistance to current and prospective small business owners. SBDCs offer one-stop assistance to individuals and small businesses by providing a wide variety of information and guidance in central and easily accessible branch locations. The program is a cooperative effort of the private sector, educators, and federal, state and local governments. It is an integral component of Entrepreneurial Development's network of training and counseling services.
Small Business Development Center at SUNY Buffalo State
The Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at SUNY Buffalo State provides management and technical assistance to start-up and existing small businesses throughout Erie County and the Niagara Frontier. The SBDC’s knowledgeable and experienced staff provide expert one-to-one counseling, training, and instructional programs to help small businesses succeed. Any existing small business, firm, or individual considering starting a small business may request assistance. There are no charges for direct counseling by the SBDC under this program.
Small Business Start-Up Resources from Invest Buffalo Niagara
Buffalo Niagara is home to a booming entrepreneurial ecosystem, with industry-disrupting companies, top tech talent, available capital, and an entire community of startup resources.
WNY Be in Business
The small business community is the lifeblood of Western New York’s economy. As such, there are a multitude of resources and services available that can be difficult to access. The need to convene said resources was made ever apparent during the COVID 19 pandemic, and as we emerge from the economic crisis that resulted, that need is still just as great. Therefore, Erie County, the Amherst Chamber of Commerce, and several partners have embarked on this collaborative effort to bring resource providers and business services organizations under one virtual roof so that entrepreneurs can access the support they need and achieve their small business goals.
Women's Business Center at Canisius College
Western New York's most comprehensive resource for businesses and professional women. The Women's Business Center (WBC) provides real-world expertise to help businesses grow step-by-step. The WBC exists solely to help entrepreneurs gain practical knowledge, fortify critical skills, make important connections, and power up their ability to succeed.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Business Planning
Entrepreneurship
New Business Enterprises
Small Business Accounting
Small Business Management
Small Business Taxes
Success in Business