Resources for Indie Authors
Note: This list is provided as a tool intended to help writers find relevant information.
The Library does not endorse information provided by third parties.
Databases
Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on various topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis. Virtual Tour
Websites
Book Publishers in Western New York
Amherst Media Photography Books
This site is where photographers can author a book, helping to build their business and brand.
ChosenButterfly Publishing
ChosenButterfly Publishing is a Christian-based publishing company for those looking to publish religious-themed books.
City of Light Publishing
A Buffalo, New York publishing company that publishes various books, including nonfiction and children's books.
NFB Publishing – Amelia Press
The New Foundations of Books (NFB) is a publishing company that focuses on community and
providing authors with the resources they need to succeed.
Pint Size Productions, LLC
A company specializing in the manufacturing of custom, personalized board books for children,
allowing individuals to create unique storybooks with their photos and text, primarily focused on small-batch production and proudly printed entirely in the USA at their facility in New York State.
Prometheus Books, LLC
An independent American publisher of nonfiction in a variety of categories:
Popular science, critical thinking, philosophy, history, atheism, humanism, current events, psychology, and true crime. Prometheus Books is known for publishing books that challenge established thought and are considered authoritative.
The Rosen Publishing Group
An independent publishing company specializing in educational materials for pre-kindergarten through grade 12 students. The company aims to inform, support, and inspire students through high-interest educational materials. Rosen Publishing is known for its sensitive treatment of complex subjects, accurate and age-appropriate information, and reassuring tone.
West 44 Books
The West 44 Books website presents itself as a focused platform showcasing primarily young adult and middle grade fiction books, particularly highlighting "hi-lo" (high-interest, low reading level) titles with diverse themes and characters, often tackling complex topics in a relatable way, while emphasizing their commitment to inclusivity and new voices in literature; the design is clean and user-friendly, with a strong focus on book covers and author information, allowing easy navigation to discover titles based on interests and reading levels.
Book Editors
Buffalo Heritage Press
Specializes in Buffalo authors telling Buffalo stories. These books can be fiction set in Buffalo, but more often than not, they are nonfiction.
Buttterfly Publishing
A Christian-based publishing company for those looking to publish religious-themed books. Editing can be purchased through one of their publishing packages or as a stand-alone feature.
Editorial Freelancers Association on Linktree
A source for finding a freelance editor through the EFA Member Directory - access a network of
experienced professionals specializing in various genres, from fiction to academic, with expertise in developmental editing, copyediting, and more.
Editors for Hire by ACES: The Society for Editing
A professional association of international scope for editors who work on every kind of content,
including newspapers, magazines, websites, books, scholarly journals, and corporate communications.
Lisa Fellinger
Lisa is a professionally trained developmental editor and book coach specializing in women's fiction, romance, and contemporary fiction.
NFB Publishing - Amelia Press
Authors have access to editors specializing in various genres. NFB utilizes independent contractors. The author and the editor negotiate a reasonable fee.
Reedsy
A platform that offers editing services, including developmental editing, and connects users with
editors and book designers.
Designers & Illustrators
Adobe InDesign
Adobe InDesign is a desktop publishing and page layout application that creates print and digital
media. InDesign creates multi-page documents like magazines, books, catalogs, stationery, business cards, and more. It offers tools for precise typography control, built-in creative tools, and customizable grids and guides. InDesign also integrates with Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and Acrobat.
The Book Designer
A go-to resource for all things related to high-quality book design. Whether you are a first-time
author or book designer by trade. The Book Designer helps you navigate self-publishing by giving you the tools and resources to stand out in a competitive industry.
Buffalo Creative Group
A design studio specializing in graphic design, web design, and book design services, focusing on helping clients build their brand identity through visually appealing and effective marketing materials, leveraging their extensive experience in the creative field to deliver tailored solutions for diverse client needs.
Fiverr
An online marketplace that connects businesses with freelancers to offer digital services.
Frank Mariani / Mariani Design
Frank is a talented cartoonist and illustrator with over 40 years of experience in the graphic arts arena.
Cartoonist For Hire
Choose from various cartoonists to match your visual expectations for your book.
Illustrators for Hire
Illustrators For Hire (IFH) is a curated list of freelance illustrators—from around the world—who
specializes in various subject matters and has expertise in specific products and formats.
JCarlier Design
Jim Charlier is an advertising designer/photographer/crafter. Whether you're launching a business, expanding a non-profit, seeking consistency across your materials, or aiming to meet goals without the expense of an ad agency retainer or freelance designer charging by the hour, a design subscription can significantly impact your marketing efforts and bottom line.
Upwork
Upwork is an online platform that acts as a marketplace connecting businesses with independent
professionals (freelancers) from around the world, allowing companies to hire remote talent for
various tasks like writing, design, programming, marketing, and more, essentially providing a platform for businesses to find and collaborate with skilled individuals on a project basis; it is considered one of the largest online work marketplaces globally.
Working not Working
Working Not Working is an online platform that acts as a curated community of top creative talent, connecting them with companies seeking freelance and full-time creative professionals across various disciplines like design, copywriting, animation, and photography; essentially, it functions as a marketplace where companies can access highly vetted creative individuals, eliminating the need for
extensive searches to find the best talent in the industry.
Indie Book Blogs & Forums
The Book Designer
Their goal is to be your go-to resource for everything related to high-quality book design. Whether you are a first-time author or book designer by trade, we are committed to helping you navigate
self-publishing by giving you the tools and resources you need to stand out in a competitive industry.
Helping Writers Become Authors
K. M. Weiland teaches story theory and technique on her award-winning blog.
Indie Reader
This site is a review service for self, hybrid, and small press-published indie authors.
The IndieView
A platform that primarily connects independent ("indie") authors with volunteer reviewers, allowing authors to find reviewers who match their genre and interests to receive feedback on their books,
essentially acting as a directory for finding book reviewers within the self-publishing community.
Mythcreants
An online publication for speculative fiction storytellers. They analyze popular works, theorize on
storytelling craft, and explore the technical aspects of writing and tabletop roleplaying.
Jane Friedman
Jane's expertise is book publishing. She uses her knowledge to help authors navigate the publishing industry.
Just Lit Blog (Just Buffalo Literacy Center)
This blog shares news, reviews, and discussions about recently released books.
Writer Beware
The official blog of Writer Beware® shines a bright light into the dark corners of the shadow world of literary scams, schemes, and pitfalls. Also, they provide advice for writers, industry news, and
commentary. The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association sponsors Writer Beware®.
Writers Helping Writers
The "Writers Helping Writers" blog focuses on providing resources and advice for writers of all levels, particularly on the craft of storytelling, with a heavy emphasis on character development, plot structure, and descriptive writing through detailed "thesauruses" that offer lists of words and phrases to help writers effectively convey emotions, motivations, and settings in their stories.
Writer Unboxed
Provides information and advice about the craft and business of fiction writing, offering insights on techniques, industry trends, and the writing life, often featuring contributions from established authors and industry professionals; essentially, it's a platform to empower writers with knowledge about the publishing world and help them improve their writing skills.
Local Indie & Commercial Bookstores/Sellers
Afterglow Books
A women owned bookstore that focuses on books in the romance and fantasy genres.
Alice, Ever After Books
A children’s bookstore that provides a collection of diverse, high-quality children’s literature and toys.
Barnes & Noble
A bookstore chain that sells books, magazines, newspapers, and other content.
The Bookworm
The Bookworm is an independently owned bookstore and gift shop located in the heart of East Aurora.
Burning Books
A bookstore in Buffalo that focuses on social justice issues and works to support individuals and movements struggling against oppression and domination in all its forms.
Darul Hikmah Bookstore
This bookstore is dedicated to Islamic literature and scholarship. It offers a wide selection of books on Islamic theology, history, jurisprudence, and related topics, often focusing on Arabic-language texts and translated works.
Dog Ears Bookstore & Café
A nonprofit community bookstore and cafe that sells books for all ages and genres. It is known for its welcoming atmosphere, community events, and free after-school programs for kids.
Fitz Books & Waffles
A store that sells new and used books focusing on hidden histories and books that motivate change for a world of equity and social justice.
Merit Badge Books
A women-owned independent bookstore in Hamburg that carries books for the whole family.
Old Editions Book Shop & Gallery
A large antiquarian bookstore in North Tonawanda specializing in used and rare books, including first editions and signed books.
Read It & Eat Bookshop: A Culinary Bookstore
The Read It & Eat bookshop specializes in cookbooks, food writing (chef memoirs, food history), and good reads about food.
Rust Belt Books
An independent used book store with fiction, poetry, sci-fi/fantasy, philosophy, history, children’s/YA, art, science & more. Rust Belt Books is also a space for community events, readings, and art.
Second Chapter Bookstore
Second Chapter Bookstore is a small black-owned business that operates in Buffalo, NY. As a mother-daughter duo, they combine their mutual passion for Black culture and love for reading to create spaces that cultivate joy, community, and shared learning while centering on the Black experience.
Talking Leaves…Books
This independent bookstore is known for its unique and diverse selection of books, often featuring lesser-known or critically acclaimed titles. It provides a curated space for avid readers seeking a distinctive literary experience with a strong focus on local authors and community engagement.
Westside Stories
A family-owned, neighborhood used bookstore in Buffalo, New York, known for its diverse selection of interesting books across various genres, curated by a former librarian focusing on providing
"curious readers of all ages" with unique titles, including lesser-known authors, alongside bookish gifts and games.
Zawadi Books
Zawadi Books is a bookstore specializing in books and materials by and about people of African descent. Their store holds author readings, book discussions, a reading room, and a storytelling resource center.
Local Printers that May Print Books
Buffalo Newspress Inc.
Provider of web offset printing services based in Buffalo, New York. The company's services include web offset and digital printing as well as mailing and bindery.
Quality Bindery Services Inc.
A comprehensive bookbinding company specializing in hardcover and softcover binding,
mainly known for their expertise in thesis binding and Bible repair, catering to book lovers with a
focus on restoring and preserving old materials alongside new projects. They do have the skills and equipment for a variety of jobs.
Western New York Arts Center
The Western New York Book Arts Center is a community print shop and studio for letterpress, screen printing, bookbinding, paper making, calligraphy, origami, and more! They are a nonprofit
organization and a working museum dedicated to preserving the book arts through collaboration and innovation, bridging antique equipment and processes with modern art-making techniques, and
celebrating the heritage of Buffalo’s printing industry.
Local Writers Groups
Buffalo-Niagara Children's Writers & Illustrators
A group from the Buffalo, Niagara Falls, and Western New York area geared toward writers and
illustrators of picture books, middle-grade, and young adult books. However, writers and illustrators of other age groups, categories, and genres are always welcome.
Dreaming in Ink Writing Group
A group of writers use prose and poetry, whether fiction or non-fiction, to recount their dreams, what they mean to them, and what they might mean to their readers. The group currently meets on the 3rd Thursday of the month at Aurora Town Public Library. Contact Jimmy Neureuther at jneureuther1955@yahoo.com for more information.
Just Buffalo Literary Center
A non-profit organization dedicated to fostering a vibrant literary community by hosting events with renowned authors, supporting young writers through creative writing programs, and providing a space for people to engage with literature and explore their creativity, mainly through their "Just Buffalo Writing Center," which focuses on youth development.
Open Sources for Writers
Open Source is a working philosophy that reflects software development. They all share a little of what they know together, so they all come away with their unique projects. Their primary purpose is to create a community of people doing similar work -writing- and sharing what works for them individually, hoping that everyone contributing a little bit makes a whole bigger than the sum of its members. They meet monthly at the Hamburg Public Library.
Shut Up & Write
Bring your writing to the meeting. The first half hour is dedicated to introductions, group discussion, and questions related to writing. The next ninety minutes are dedicated to silent writing. Locations of meetings vary.
Marketing Services
The Book Designer
Their goal is to be your go-to resource for everything related to high-quality book design. Whether you are a first-time author or book designer by trade, they are committed to helping you navigate self-publishing by giving you the tools and resources you need to stand out in a competitive industry.
Bowker Publishing Services
A company that provides essential tools and services to the publishing industry, primarily focused on identifying and distributing information about books by offering ISBNs, barcodes, metadata
management, and other resources that help authors, publishers, and retailers connect readers with new titles, acting as a central hub for book discovery and distribution across the market.
PodcastGuests.com
An online platform that connects podcasters with potential guests for their shows by providing a directory of experts where podcasters can search for relevant individuals to interview.
PodMatch
PodMatch helps the right podcast guests & hosts find each other faster and automates administrative work so you can focus on what matters: recording interviews that serve listeners.
Publisher Rocket
A website that provides a software tool designed specifically for authors and publishers, allowing them to research and optimize their book's visibility on Amazon by analyzing keywords, categories, and competitor data, essentially helping them make informed decisions to boost their book sales through effective marketing strategies on the platform.
Qwoted
A web platform that acts as a marketplace connecting journalists and media creators with expert sources, including small businesses and individuals, allows them to find relevant quotes and insights for their stories quickly.
Reedsy
An online marketplace where authors can connect with professional editors, designers, marketers, and other publishing professionals to help them create and self-publish their books, essentially acting as a platform to find high-quality freelance services specifically tailored to the book publishing industry, with a focus on vetting professionals to ensure quality work for authors.
Squaredspace
A user-friendly, visually appealing website built using the Squarespace platform allows users to create professional-looking sites without coding knowledge, utilizing drag-and-drop functionality, customizable templates, and built-in features to design and manage their online presence easily.
Other Services & Resources for Writers
Atticus
A platform primarily focused on helping authors write and format their books, acting as an all-in-one writing and formatting tool where users can draft their manuscript, customize design elements, and preview their book in different formats, all within a user-friendly interface designed specifically for self-publishing authors.
How to Market Your Book
A YouTube video by Bethany Atazadeh, a young adult fantasy indie author, shares thirty-five ways to market your book.
IngramSpark
A platform designed for self-published authors and publishers, allowing them to manage and
distribute their ebooks and print books globally through a comprehensive interface, providing access to a vast network of retailers, libraries, and online stores, essentially acting as a one-stop shop for self-publishing distribution across various formats.
Kindle Direct Publishing
A platform that allows authors to publish and sell books on Amazon. It's free to use and provides authors with access to readers worldwide.
Vellum
A book creation tool for Mac that allows you to prepare your book for professional publication.
Getting Your Book in the Library
The Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System is very proud of the local writing community and welcomes your book, subject to the Gift and Donor Recognition Policy.
Mail or drop off a copy of your book, with your contact information enclosed, to:
Attn: Joy Testa Cinquino
Central Library
1 Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
Please keep in mind that it may take a few months to get the title included in our catalog, on the shelf, and available for patron borrowing. If you have questions, call 716-858-7182.