Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

News and Current Events

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Access World News
Find Current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more with the world's largest collection of full-text news sources.  Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 4700 sources. Virtual Tour

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover".  Virtual Tour

Buffalo News
Full-text articles, 1989 - present.  Virtual Tour

New York Times
Provides full-text coverage from 1985 to the present. NOVELny
Virtual Tour

Newsstand 
Provides full-text searches of a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers. NOVELny
Virtual Tour

New York State Newspapers
This database includes articles from newspapers from around New York State. NOVELny
Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.   Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

ABC News 
A breaking news resource for top stories, videos, photos, blogs, special reports and exclusive celebrity interviews on Good Morning America.

The Associated Press
Information about the world's oldest and largest newsgathering organization.

CNN
CNN delivers some of the latest breaking news and information on the latest top stories, weather, business, entertainment, politics, and more.

Fox News
24-hour news service delivering breaking news as well as political and business news.

Google News
Headlines and a search engine of many of the world's news sources.

The Huffington Post
Destination for news, blogs and original content offering coverage of US politics, entertainment, style, world news, technology and comedy

Kadaza
Visual overview of the most popular news websites. 

NBC News
Msnbc.com is a leader in breaking news, video and original journalism. Stay current with daily news updates in health, entertainment, business, science, and more.

The New York Times
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more.

Reuters
Reuters.com brings you the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business, politics, entertainment, technology, and more.

USA Today
Provides up-to-date coverage of US and international news, weather, entertainment, finance, and more.

The Wallstreet Journal
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Some articles require paid subscription access.

Yahoo News
Use Yahoo! News to find breaking news, current events, the latest headlines, news photos, analysis & opinion on top stories, world, business, politics, etc.

 

Community and Local Links 

Bee Newspaper
A group of nine weekly community newspapers serving the suburbs of Buffalo, New York.

Buffalo Business First
Business First of Buffalo is a leading source of comprehensive business news and in-depth analysis.

The Buffalo News
The Buffalo News updated every day with news from Buffalo, New York. Links to national and business news, entertainment listings, recipes, sports teams, and more.

Buffalo Rising
Featuring sections on city news, regional news, lifestyle, food, real estate, classifieds and events.

Time Warner Cable News
News for the WNY area.  The 24-hour commercial cable news television station is carried on Time Warner Cable. 

WBEN NewsRadio
Radio station broadcasting a news and talk format on 930AM, serving the Niagara, Buffalo and WNY region.

WGRZ 
Buffalo news, WNY news, Buffalo weather, and Buffalo sports from Channel 2 News in Buffalo, NY.

WIVB
Buffalo News, Buffalo Weather: WIVB News Channel 4 Buffalo is Keeping You Connected in Western New York and the Niagara Region with the latest local news.

WKBW
Buffalo news, weather, sports, lottery results, on-air personalities, station information, and community events.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Journalism
Journalists
News Anchors
Photojournalism