Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Immigrants, Refugees and Non-Native Speakers

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Statue of Liberty, U S capitol

 

Databases 

Academic OneFile, General OneFile and Newsstand offer limited text and audio translation of full text files in up to 32 languages - Afrikaans, Bengali, Czech, Chinese,  Croatian, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malaysian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Vietnamese and Welsh.

Academic OneFile  
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. NOVELny. Virtual Tour

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis. NOVELny.  Virtual Tour

Masterfile Premier offers translation of full text HTML files in 29 languages - Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hausa, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Serbian, Swedish, Thai and Urdu.

Masterfile Premier
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.  This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual tour

Newsstand 
Provides full-text searches of a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers. NOVELny

ProCitizen
Procitizen will help you prepare for the Civics, Reading, and Writing portions of the Naturalization Test through a series of 100 videos, practice exercises and quizzes.  If you have already signed up for a user name and password through Pronunciator, you can use the same user name and password for ProCitizen.

Pronunciator
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 51 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese.

SCOLA
SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning material.  SCOLA Flyer.

 

Online dictionaries 

Digital Dictionaries of South Asia
This site, hosted by the University of Chicago, features online dictionaries for languages spoken in the Middle East, the Indian subcontinent, and Southeast Asia.

From Language to Language
Online translation tool for 49 languages.

Online Burmese-English dictionary   

Drum Publications Skype online interpreter  
Free online interpreter service for Karen and Burmese refugees from Thailand (requires Skype).

Karen-English online language database

Karen-English dictionary

Kurdish-English dictionary

Nepali-English dictionary

Pushto-English dictionary

Somali-English dictionary
 

Online Education
 

New York State Department of Education Online Lessons
Includes links to videos and PBS programming for developing workplace skills, English language proficiency, civics and citizenship.   Provides access to 26 episodes of Crossroads Cafe, a series designed to teach English as a new language, and the 15-part series On Common Ground, which offers lessons on American government, civics, human rights and citizenship.

 

Community and Local Links

American Civil Liberties Union's Immigrants Right Project
Using targeted impact litigation, advocacy, and public outreach, the ACLU protects the rights and liberties of immigrants.

Buffalo Public Schools Adult Education Program
Buffalo Schools Adult Education Division offers over 50 ESL classes for non-native speakers who need to develop better skills in English. Classes run five days a week and are free of charge at 10 different locations throughout the city of Buffalo.

Erie County Bar Association’s Volunteer Lawyer’s Project  
Civil legal advice and representation by volunteer attorneys for low income individuals.

Erie 1 Boces (ESL)
Featuring free adult English classes of various levels, which include speaking, listening, writing and reading.

HealthReach
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's site for exploring health topics by language, including audio and video in Arabic, Bengali, Farsi, French, Karen, Nepali, Pashto, Somali, and Spanish.

Immigrants, Refugees, and Languages Spoken in Buffalo
Partnership for the Public Good's Buffalo Brief gives facts and statistics concerning Buffalo's immigrant population from 2000 to 2014.  

International Institute
Provides refugee, immigrant, interpreting and translation services.

Jericho Road Hope Refugee Drop-in Center
Provides culturally sensitive caseworkers and translators to assist refugees with financial, medical, and occupational issues.

Jewish Family Services of Buffalo
Programs and services to immigrants and refugees.

Journey's End Refugee Center
Provides refugees with the resources and support they need to become successful, active and contributing members of the Western New York Community.

Karibu News
Buffalo's own multilingual & multicultural refugee and immigrant focused newspaper.

Legal Aid Bureau of Buffalo
Specialized Legal Services for Immigrants and Refugees.

Literacy New York Buffalo-Niagara
Serving individuals looking to improve their reading skills and the growing population of recently relocated refugees and immigrants in the area who may not speak or read English.

New Face of Buffalo
A short-form documentary series demonstrating a cultural exchange within the diverse and evolving city of Buffalo, NY. 

New York State Office for New Americans
New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo established the Office for New Americans to assist newcomers to New York State who are eager to contribute to our economy and become part of the family of New York State.

Safe, Smart and Healthy: Keys to Success in Your New Home
This one-page handout with accompanying video published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine educates people about substance use and abuse. It discusses alcohol and the law, natural and prescription medications, driving under the influence, and smoking bans and health issues of second hand smoke. Available in English, Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Dari, Dzongkha, Farsi, Hakha Chin, Karen, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Nepali, Somali, Swahili, Tigrinya, and Turkish

U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services
The Department of Homeland Security's website for obtaining forms and information, checking case status, and making appointments.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

English as a Second Language (ESL) materials
English dictionaries
English grammar and usage
ESL for speakers of Amharic
ESL for speakers of Arabic 
ESL for speakers of Bosnian
ESL for speakers of Burmese
ESL for speakers of Cambodian
ESL for speakers of Cantonese
ESL for speakers of Chinese 
ESL for speakers of Croatian
ESL for speakers of Farsi
ESL for speakers of Hindi
ESL for speakers of Japanese
ESL for speakers of Karen
ESL for speakers of Korean
ESL for speakers of Nepali
ESL for speakers of Polish
ESL for speakers of Portuguese
ESL for speakers of Punjabi
ESL for speakers of Russian
ESL for speakers of Serbian
ESL for speakers of Somali
ESL for speakers of Spanish
ESL for speakers of Tagalog
ESL for speakers of Thai
ESL for speakers of Urdu
ESL for speakers of Vietnamese
U.S. Citizenship