Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Autism

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

**These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.**

Databases

Health Reference Center Academic
Find full-text of nursing and allied health journals plus access to articles dealing with Autism Spectrum Disorder intended for the general public. Virtual Tour

Medline Plus  Medline Plus Español
A comprehensive health and  medical site from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Find information on diseases and medications, links to directories of hospitals, physicians, organizations, and to other medical sites from the federal government.  Additional information is available on Autism plus access to articles from the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services, Social Security Administration, CDC, American Association of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and more.

 

Websites

Autistic Self Advocacy Network
Provides information about autism, disability rights, and systems change to the public through a number of different educational, cultural, and advocacy related projects. Nothing about us without us!

Autism Speaks
World's leading autism science and advocacy organization. Find useful information about parenting, treatment, research and advocacy on this comprehensive site.

Autism Society of America
Committed to advocacy, education, support, services and research. Find practical information about treatment, legal issues and other issues

American Academy of Pediatrics Autism Page
Information for both parents and healthcare providers including research, webinars, blogs and downloadable guides.

CDC Autism Spectrum Disorder
Risk factors, diagnosis, treatments, research and statistics. Find it all here from the Centers for Disease Control

Autism: A History NPR On Point
Radio broadcast aired on January 21, 2016 at 11:00 AM. This one-hour program discusses the origins of the diagnosis with the authors of “In A Different Key: The Story of Autism.”

 

Community and Local Links

Autism Services, Inc.
Provides a wide array of individualized programs and services to support children and adults with autism, and their families.

Autism Society of America - WNY Chapter
Local support for professionals and parents of children with Autism Spectrum Disorders. Find support groups, subscribe to the newsletter and learn about Autism-friendly events in the community.

DDInfolink
Your direct link to services to persons with developmental disability. Search by agency, type of service or location. Results will lead to contact and eligibililty information as well as to agency websites where available.

Developmental Disability Alliance of Western New York (DDAWNY)
A collaborative group of agencies providing services fo people with developmental disabilities. The DDAWNY Resource guide 
and other helpful links can be found here.

Early Childhood Direction Center - Kaleida Health
Provides free information, referral, technical assistance and support to families, professionals, and community agencies concerned with children birth to five with suspected or diagnosed delays or disabilities. The ECDC offers multidisciplinary evaluation of Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Parent Network of WNY
Provides 1-On-1 Support and Education on Disabilities, Special Education and Services.

Parent to Parent of New York State - Western Office 
A place where families of individuals with special needs, and the professionals who support them, can meet and share information.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog

Autism Spectrum Disorder (general)
Autism and Education
Autism and Relationships (Includes biography & memoir)
Autism and Psychology
Autism DVDs and Blu-rays